you ruined a perfectly good app

Giff

06 Jan, 2012 05:53 AM

I was a huge IA Writer fan. I could write on my ipad, whether I was online or not, and then sync easily to dropbox, and then access the same files on my laptop or any other device. It was simple, effortless and it worked. I had control over my documents, across multiple devices and whether I had wifi/3G or not.

No longer.

So is this new version your definition of progress? or a thinly veiled attempt to force me to buy and switch to using IA Writer on my laptop -- because I don't see any other way to get access to iCloud documents on OS/X. I am fine with you trying to upsell me on your Mac application, but don't do it by ruining the iOS application that I paid for.

Dropbox hasn't changed their functionality. You decided to make this change and force it on your user base, and it infuriates me. At least you could have made it a choice. iCloud is not a superior option. iCloud is not open or flexible.

Roll back your version control or get it right.

1. 1 Posted by Giovanni on 06 Jan, 2012 09:00 PM

I tend to agree. There is no reason to restrict syncing to iCloud, especially with the dreadful history of MobileMe. Dropbox (and Sugarsync, for that matter) are way more advanced and established, and allowing multiple syncing options does not really detract from the otherwise beautiful concept underlying iaWriter. I own a OSX based laptop and I use iCloud, so this hasn't been an issue for me and I have happily bought the desktop version as well, but I can imagine it can be for others. Minimalist is great, but not to detriment of practical.

2. 2 Posted by Cole on 07 Jan, 2012 06:54 AM

Gentlemen, am I missing something? All versions of iAWriter still support Dropbox sync. The addition of iCloud is just that — an addition. I use both, myself — on both devices — and it works flawlessly.

3. 3 Posted by Cole on 07 Jan, 2012 07:01 AM